Add spacer to ImageFont for LÖVE, Guichan, etc.

How to turn
into

?

Thanks to Ben Snider’s research on using ImageMagick for splitting and merging sprite sheets and IM’s splice documentation I wrote a bash script.

To get it:

wget --no-check-certificate https://github.com/qubodup/flying_revenge/raw/master/tools/addSpacer.sh
chmod +x addSpacer.sh

To use it:

./addSpacer.sh spritesheet.png 24x32

This only works for monospaced fonts (all characters have the same width).

This will also work for images like

but the empty characters won’t be trimmed.

Guichan’s ImageFont gallery shows a range of image font examples.

LÖVE’s ImageFont is what I need this script for. I use it for my simple game flying revenge.

This entry was posted in qubodup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Add spacer to ImageFont for LÖVE, Guichan, etc.

  1. wilbefast says:

    This could be handy for me: thus far I’ve been adding spacing my hand. It’s useful as a guide for drawing afterwards (so I could use this to draw guidelines on blank images before starting). Good find as always :-)

Leave a Reply

