Record an OpenGL game in Linux using GLC

Get glc.

If starting the game in a terminal looks like `agame`, run this:

glc-capture agame

When you want the recording to start (and to stop), press

Shift + F8

Now convert the .glc file. If the game’s audio has been recorded, do this (after replacing the uppercase file names):

glc-play AGAME.glc -a 1 -o /tmp/agamesound.wav
glc-play AGAME.glc -o - -y 1 | ffmpeg -i - -i /tmp/agamesound.wav -acodec libmp3lame -ab 128k -ac 2 -vcodec libx264 -vpre slow -crf 22 -threads 0 "omgitworked.mp4"

If there is no audio, do this (after replacing the uppercase file name):

glc-play AGAME.glc -o - -y 1 | ffmpeg -i - -an -vcodec libx264 -vpre slow -crf 22 -threads 0 omgitworked.mp4

If you want to record a non-OpenGL game (many 2D games) or it just won’t work, perhaps the FFmpeg method will work!

Nikki and the Robots: Story Episodes
Buy the cute Überpixel™ style platformer now!

outrageously blatant self-promotion

This entry was posted in qubodup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Record an OpenGL game in Linux using GLC

  1. Pingback: Where there's a will, be fast » “Bugger!” it’s official!

  2. Venn says:

    I would like to use this in a how-to for capture on a new live.TWIT.tv show. Granted, I use a *.mkv bit but; with your permission I will note the site in the how-to. In all honesty this was the 2’nd or 3’rd site I looked at before getting into GLC.

  3. Seb says:

    Thank you so much for this awesome software!
    Now I can record my OpenGL application to make a demo video.

  4. Seb says:

    (The big thanks goes of course to Martin Erik Werner for the software, but I also want to thank you for the converting commands.)

  5. Liviu says:

    Thanks for the nice tutorial. Here’s what worked for me:
    I encountered a lot of jerkiness when trying to record the game, and after consulting [1] I settled for teh following command.
    root@liv-laptop:~/tmp# nice -n -19 glc-capture –compression=none /usr/local/build/trigger/data/trigger

    I also needed to reduce the resolution of the game to 640×480. As for converting the resulting .glc file to something more portable, after consulting [2] I did the following:
    glc-play AGAME.glc -a 1 -o /tmp/agamesound.wav

    Then manually convert the .wav file to .mp3 (~192KB/s) using ‘soundconverter’, and then
    glc-play AGAME.glc -o – -y 1 | ffmpeg -i – -sameq -y /tmp/video.mp4
    ffmpeg -i /tmp/agamesound.mp3 -acodec copy -i /tmp/video.mp4 -vcodec copy omgitworked.mp4

    The audio part can still be improved and streamlined with ffmpeg, but I got the result that I wanted, so I didn’t bother to.

    [1] http://archive09.linux.com/feature/143775
    [2] https://github.com/nullkey/glc/wiki/Encode

  6. anonymous says:

    Not works:
    Unknown codec ‘libx264′

  7. Andrew says:

    I need to ask beause I feel like I’m missing something here: I’m trying to use GLC to record some videos but in the terminal I don’t know what I’m supposed to put in place of ‘agame’…if it’s a specific application name related to the game I’m playing then I have no idea what to put because nowhere will give me an example of what to put here. You are my shining beacon if you can illuminate this issue…

  8. Bob says:

    I have a problem.
    Glc worked perfectly until recently when I go to record MInecraft.
    There is now no sound at all.
    The console spews out : Client> [ 2.56s alsa_hook error ] 0x7f1988062a00: unsupported audio format 0x0e
    Any fix?

Leave a Reply

